Kevin Cook

Plain Mister Smith unleashes ‘New Wave Angst’ EP

play all visit

The enigmatic Plain Mister Smith has unveiled a brand new EP, New Wave Angst, on the 22nd of March via Popoganda Records. This project, receiving support from notable tastemaker EARMILK, follows the release of three of its singles: ‘El Presidente’, ‘New Wave Sangfroid’ and ‘Grade Five and the Ax’. Plain Mister Smith continues to carve his own niche in the world of offbeat indie-folk with his witty songwriting while still managing to embrace the self-reflection and emotional lyrical themes the genre offers. Formerly the guitarist of the Canadian darkwave band Moev, the multi-talented artist now has his hands full as a cellist for the Vancouver Philharmonic Orchestra. Under the Plain Mister Smith moniker, his music has received publication support from CLASH Mag, NOTION Mag, Under The Radar Mag, EARMILK, NOCTIS Mag, METAL Mag and Atwood Mag among others.

New Wave Angst presents a diverse range of genres and sounds appealing to fans of quirky indie folk rockers like Neutral Milk Hotel, Sufjan Stevens, Elliot Smith, and José González. Plain Mister Smith’s unique personality is evident in his varied arrangements, distinctive vocals, and sincere yet witty lyrics, from the wandering harmonies of ‘El Presidente’ to the blend of new wave rhythms and acoustic atmospheres in ‘New Wave Sangfroid’.

Plain Mister Smith shared: “The songs on this EP all touch on existential angst in one form or another. Whether it’s about the trials and tribulations of scraping by as fledging indie band (‘New Wave Sangfroid’), or as a tiny indie label (‘El Presidente’) or exploding with feelings of claustrophobia (‘Run, Fly or Sail’), these songs touch on pulling through by hook or by crook…”

Follow Plain Mister Smith:


Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

cool good eh love2 cute confused notgood numb disgusting fail